Saturday, January 12, 2013

Review: Koldbrann's upcoming album "Vertigo"

As you know, Koldbrann, Norwegian Black Metal band, recently relased an EP called Totalt Sjelelig Bankerott through Season of Mist. 
On the 25th of January (and on the 22nd in America) they will release also through Season of Mist a new album called Vertigo
The album contains 11 tracks and the artwork cover is very similar to the one of the EP.
Again, this release is very close to perfection.
First track is called IntroVertigo, and even though it is the intro for the album, it is not any cliché intro but a proper song, already showing a bit of what this band have to present us along the 11 tracks.
Second track Totalt Sjelelig Bankerott starts with the desired and also expected blast beats, very aggressive good drums, never letting  voice or other instruments down. This track was also included on the EP and has the same title.
Third track is silent for a while, and then develops into a creepy instrumental bit, like some dragged sound, weirdly pleasant. Short track, opening space for the next track which is a bit slower.
There's nothing new to say about the album or about the remaining tracks, because there is nothing new in there, it is just good as always.
It's a very good and powerful album, as aggressive as it should be, with furious but melodic guitars. Nothing fails in Vertigo, there's nothing wrong or out of place. 
Lachryma Christi can't really tell of any negative point on this album apart from the female voice which sounds a bit out of tune on the track Stolichnaya Smert. Apart from that, everything makes sense, once again.
If you are a fan of proper Norwegian Black Metal, get this album when it comes out, because it will not disappoint you. It is very easy to listen to with it's extreme moments where and when they have to happen and with it's melodic and less strong moments as well performed as always.

Vertigo tracklist:

01. IntroVertigo
02. Totalt Sjelelig Bankerott
03. Hjertets Holodomor
04. Drammen
05. Stolichnaya Smert
06. Terminal Transnistrii
07. Phantom Kosmonaut
08. Goat Lodge
09. I Eklipsens Skimmer
10. Sans Soleil
11. Inertia Corridors

No comments:

Post a Comment